The Seventh Plague: A Sigma Force Novel
Paperback [Includes Short Story Crash and Burn]
Released On: Aug 22, 2016

In a breathtaking blend of scientific intrigue and historical mystery, #1 New York Times bestselling mastermind, James Rollins, reveals an ancient threat hidden within the pages of the Bible, one that threatens the modern world in
The Seventh Plague

If the biblical plagues of Egypt truly happened—could they happen again—on a global scale?

Two years after vanishing into the Sudanese desert, the leader of a British archeological expedition, Professor Harold McCabe, comes stumbling out of the sands, frantic and delirious, but he dies before he can tell his story. The mystery deepens when an autopsy uncovers a bizarre corruption: someone had begun to mummify the professor’s body—while he was still alive.

His strange remains are returned to London for further study, when alarming news arrives from Egypt. The medical team who had performed the man’s autopsy has fallen ill with an unknown disease, one that is quickly spreading throughout Cairo. Fearing the worst, a colleague of the professor reaches out to a longtime friend: Painter Crowe, the director of Sigma Force. The call is urgent, for Professor McCabe had vanished into the desert while searching for proof of the ten plagues of Moses. As the pandemic grows, a disturbing question arises.

Are those plagues starting again?

Before Director Crowe can investigate, a mysterious group of assassins leaves behind a fiery wake of destruction and death, erasing all evidence. With the professor’s body incinerated, his home firebombed, Sigma Force must turn to the archaeologist’s only daughter, Jane McCabe, for help. While sifting through what’s left of her father’s work, she discovers a puzzling connection, tying the current threat to a shocking historical mystery, one involving the travels of Mark Twain, the genius of Nikola Tesla, and the adventures of famous explorer, Henry Morgan Stanley.

To unravel a secret going back millennia, Director Crowe and Commander Grayson Pierce will be thrust to opposite sides of the globe. One will search for the truth, traveling from the plague-ridden streets of Cairo to a vast ancient tomb buried under the burning sands of the Sudan; the other will struggle to stop a mad genius locked within a remote Arctic engineering complex, risking the lives of all those he holds dear.

As the global crisis grows ever larger, Sigma Force will confront a threat born of the ancient past and made real by the latest science—a danger that will unleash a cascading series of plagues, culminating in a scourge that could kill all of the world’s children . . . decimating mankind forever.

Share This:
Share
International Editions: Browse

NOTE: The purchase of an eBook reader is not required to read books. For more information, click here.

Critical Acclaim

  • "James Rollins has written a slew of pulse-pounding, wildly imaginative thrillers. But he tops himself, and everybody else, in The Seventh Plague...This is reading entertainment at its level best and the best thriller of 2016.”

    Providence Sunday Journal
  • "James Rollins frightens and educates readers while daring them to look away as he drops one exhilarating plot twist after another. Biblical history has never been so sweet!"

    Bookreporter.com
  • When it comes to the blending of action, adventure, history, and science, there is no other author who does it better than Rollins. Fans of Clive Cussler, Steve Berry, and Michael Crichton should already have Rollins on their mandatory reading list.

    Booklist (*starred* review on The Seventh Plague)
  • Bestseller Rollins’s epic...features exotic locales, heroic quests, quixotic villains, action galore, and enough science and scientific curiosities to titillate even casual readers….Rollins’s characters are as large as his landscape in this vast and vastly entertaining thriller saga.

    Publishers Weekly (*starred* review on The Seventh Plague)
  • "Fascinating research, beautifully told ... a riveting read.”

    Wilbur Smith (New York Times bestselling author of The Pharaoh) on THE SEVENTH PLAGUE
  • I am certain this book will be great!!

    Sam Dalton (Reader Review)

FAQ

  • Q. Can you tell us a little about The Seventh Plague, your latest Sigma thriller? What’s it about?
    A. The story starts when an archaeologist—who vanished along with a survey team into the Egyptian des ... Read More
  • Q. Is it actually possible for people to mummify themselves while still alive?
    A. Shockingly it is. Sokushinbutsu—or Buddhas in the flesh—can be found in Japan, where the practit ... Read More
  • Q. Back to those ten plagues from the Bible…could they really happen again?
    A. This novel deals with an alternate timeline for the events featured in the Book of Exodus—the stor ... Read More
  • Q. Speaking of those plagues, you also tie this book to the current crisis involving the spread of the Zika virus. What does Zika have to do with your story?
    A. The Zika virus originated in a monkey in Uganda, yet it’s grown into a tragic disease spreading ar ... Read More
  • Q. Your novel also features “electric bacteria.” Those can’t possibly be real, can they?
    A. They are very real. They’ve only recently been identified, but over a dozen different specimens ha ... Read More
  • Q. During this adventure, you also raise concerns about climate change. How does that play out in your book?
    A. While I don’t intend my novel to be a diatribe about climate change, it’s hard to deny that the ... Read More
  • Q. You also look at a unique way of combating climate change, something called geo-engineering. What’s that?
    A. These are massive projects, basically Hail Mary passes to save the planet. Most climate scientists b ... Read More
  • Q. The project featured in your book is tied to something actually up in the Arctic already.
    A. It does. It ties to an Air Force installation called HAARP, which is an elaborate antenna array shoo ... Read More
  • Q. As usual, you also fold some intriguing history into your novel, like featuring Mark Twain and his friendships with other historical figures, like the inventor Nicola Tesla.
    A. I’ve always found it fascinating that so many bigger-than-life historical figures not only knew ea ... Read More
  • Q. Besides Mark Twain, you even have Donald Trump’s uncle connected to Tesla’s story. Was that true?
    A. Yes, and it ties into a great mystery surrounding Nikola Tesla. Tesla was a visionary genius, and la ... Read More
  • Q. Your stories are known for featuring animals in prominent roles. Is that the case with The Seventh Plague?
    A. As a veterinarian, I love to fold animals into my story, and this book is no exception. I feature a ... Read More
  • Q. Finally, as I understand it, this book is also very personal for you. Would you care to go into it?
    A. I dedicated this book to my mother and father, who both recently passed away from complications seco ... Read More

Media

  • The Seventh Plague Trailer
  • The Seventh Plague INTERVIEW
  • Amazon
    Amazon, a Fortune 500 company based in Seattle, Washington, is the global leader in e-commerce. Since Jeff Bezos started...More Info
  • Kindle
    Amazon, a Fortune 500 company based in Seattle, Washington, is the global leader in e-commerce. Since Jeff Bezos started...More Info
  • Barnes & Noble
    Barnes & Noble.com is a wholly owned subsidiary of Barnes & Noble, Inc., a publicly traded company listed on the NYSE un...More Info
  • Nook
    Barnes & Noble.com is a wholly owned subsidiary of Barnes & Noble, Inc., a publicly traded company listed on the NYSE un...More Info
  • iBookstore
    No matter how many books you stack on your bookshelves, you can carry them all with you. iBooks features over 2 million ...More Info
  • IndieBound
    IndieBound is a community-oriented movement begun by the independent bookseller members of the American Booksellers Asso...More Info
  • Kobo
    Inspired by a "Read Freely" philosophy and a passion for innovation, Kobo is one of the world's fastest-growing eReading...More Info
  • The Poisoned Pen
    The Poisoned Pen, Founded in 1989, is an independent bookstore specializing in fiction. Discover current and classic wor...More Info
  • Google Play
    Google Play Books (formerly Google eBooks) is a cross-platform ebook application offered by Google. Users can purchase a...More Info
  • HarperCollins
    HarperCollins Publishers is one of the world's leading English-language publishers. Headquartered in New York, the compa...More Info
  • HarperCollins International
    The HarperCollins International Sales group is dedicated to bringing HarperCollins U.S. books to readers all over the wo...More Info

x